Smoke and Cloud

A menacing sun
emerged between clouds, its red
glare disturbed my dawn
~carliewired

I was up at 3:30 opening windows and doors to cool off the house. In the dark I could detect a hint of smoke. At 5:30 when I'd finished my morning coffee I was beginning to see some light on the horizon. The valleys looked very hazy. 

I drove off at 6:30 heading for Riverside Park downtown. It seemed rather quiet on this holiday weekend. 

I parked near Heritage House in the park so I could walk down to the pier. I see there are still parts of the waterpark area that are fenced off and not complete. 

Near the pier I spotted a squirrel drinking from a puddle. I wasn't fast enough to get that shot, but I persisted as it scampered about in the trees. I managed one shot before it disappeared. 

I walked out to the end of the pier. It gives me a great view of my mountains and the railway bridge. This morning it was the sky and the reflections that attracted me most. I looked across to the Overlander Bridge. Beneath it on the sandy shore a couple was watching their dogs romp. I noticed that it was so dark at 7 AM that some of the lights were still on. I noticed that the begonias in the planters were over their best.

I drove up to Victoria Street to get my drive-thru breakfast. I stopped for the light at an intersection where I got a shot of the angry red sun. 

I headed for home taking this photo of my mountains from my deck at 7:30. The combination of smoke and cloud have made rather interesting sky today. 

I'm in for the day. There's a quilt that needs some attention. 

We can expect a mainly sunny day with a high of 33 C. The smoke will linger today. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.