A full day!

Remember that yesterday I said we were relaxing this weekend? Well day one of the weekend has been just that. A tiring kind of relaxing, but we did have a lie in! Then to the allotment a bit later than planned, where I dug up ( and pronged quite a few of) my potatoes. Always my favourite job although a very low yield this year and I don't know why. At least what I have don't look like the slugs got them. I will dig up those in the garden tomorrow. They will keep us going for a little while anyway. Jon cut the grass, and did general tidying. Then he moved the chicken run and added the rabbit run I brought back from Manda's last week, to give them a longer run. Meanwhile the chickens had 2 hours free run in the allotment. I picked the last of my corn, and removed yet more caterpillars from my purple spouting broccoli. I'm not giving up on this allotment t yet, but have made some decisions about what I try to grow next year. No more tomatoes, but a lot more onions, shallots and beans of the French and runner varieties. They all grow well and don't get eaten. I will still try more sweetcorn although my succes is mixed. I think I will stick to growing courgettes in my garden, and chilli's. I'm not going to bother with tomatoes so if in March I write that I have sowed tomato seeds, please shout at me. They are a waste of time and never ripen. I may give the kohlrabi another go though.

At 1.30 we went home to home made roasted courgette fennel and lentil soup, with home made wholemeal bread. We ate it in the garden because how many more opportunities will we get, and you just have to make the most of them. Even Henry ate the soup. Home grown courgettes and fennel, but not lentils:-)

Then we loaded up the car with our canoing stuff and canoe and headed to Sutton Staithe for an hour or 2 on the water. It was perfect weather but a lot of other big hire boats about. We enjoyed it. Saw a heron and some chick's. She didn't like us getting too near.

Home via Cromer to collect Mollie. Her car is 99% likely to be a write off so she isn't driving it. Cooked a nice 'grill up' it's the healthy version of a fry up, and sat around our fire outside...where I am still, with a blanket on my knee and a glass of wine. Hoping the hedgehog will put in an appearance. I've lit lots of candles and am just enjoying the last of the summer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.