Memories of an Orkney beach

The beach in front of the cottages  in which we've stayed in Pierowall is a good one for beach pottery.  Though this year I was a bit disappointed with my beachcombing. I suppose it's to do with the tides, currents and how many other people have been looking for bits of old china in the sand.  It's a strange compulsion and you have to be prepared to turn over every bit of old, grotty pottery you see on the beach just in case, on the other side, is the prettiest pattern. 

When I got the treasure home though I was pleasantly surprised about the amount I'd found over the week. This isn't all of it - there are other bits in different colours but the blue and white is my favourite.  Other years' collections are here and here.

It was good to have an evening at home. I did some washing and hung it out. I watered the garden. Then it rained. Heavily. Not to worry - though I was a bit annoyed at the time. 

I'm up early again but no beautiful sunrise over the bay to watch. Instead I'm sorting out for our grandson's regular Monday visit. I'm out tonight and I'm hoping that a late(ish) night will help to turn my sleeping pattern around. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.