3 Musketeers

The 9th of the 9th and today would have been Mum and Dad's 71st wedding anniversary.  We marked it over dinner with the pink fizz we bought on Tuesday but earlier, beers and a cider in Labeaume.

Earlier in the Ardeche - it was a cloudy and cooler day today with some rain as we ate breakfast.  I updated my diaries, realising that there are a couple of weeks coming up that are going to be nightmare and at least two clashes.  However now the 2 online diaries and the paper diary match (I know, diary overkill but there is a good reason behind this).Then the first of my two outings of the day.  There was a requirement for food so the three of us went to St Ambroix, J and D to visit Lidl and me to stroll round the town centre.  This is a my 3rd visit to St Ambroix.  We came the first time before J and D moved here but it was the first time I'd climbed to the top of the old village - phew.  There isn't a lot in St Ambroix but I did buy some tarte aux framboises.  You can't leave France without a raspberry tart.

It was time for lunch not long after we got back.  The usual salad with meat and cheese augmented by fougasses.  I've eaten a lot more at lunch here than I normally do. It was threatening to be sunny but wasn't though it was very pleasant.  There were emails from Apex and the Choir which meant I had to do some thinking and writing.  Concentrated on the Choir, looking at the proposed layouts for Wednesday to make sure we remain socially distant.  The Apex one requires a phone call.  Luckily J rescued me from this with the suggestion we took Mum a run to Labeaume - a village of character in a river gorge.  It was busy, though not as busy as it would have been a month ago.  Short stroll round the village then beers and a cider in the bar.  All very pleasant.  We got back at 4.46, perfect timing for my meeting at 5.

The meeting lasted 36 minutes and seemed to go well.  That meant I had time to call P about the Apex issue (we concurred!) and agree with A that we did not need to confer so all work finished by 6.01.

We ended the day with some of the pink fizz bought on Tuesday, beautifully cooked duck, saute potatoes and green beans (including a few form the garden) and the tarts.  Finally some tv, before we all fell asleep in our chairs. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.