Capital adventures

By marchmont

Test day

It rained during the night, well early morning, and it was a dull and cool start to the day. I lay in bed listening to 'Farming Today' and 'Today' and drafted an email to the Choir with the last minute instructions for Wednesday to keep us all safe. It feels like a huge responsibility. It's gone to Committee for comment, though there is an obvious downside to that approach.

After a late breakfast, and the return of the sun, we set out for Les Vans. My 45 minute shopping allocation had been reduced to 32 minutes but that was ok, I just wanted some olive shower gel from the Olivier de Vincent shop. On the way I blipped les lavoirs.

Then it was to the Pharmacie for our antigen tests (29 Euros each). There was a slight blip when the girl said it was the wrong Pharmacie but we had the bit of paper and all was well, and as instructed by the notice, we stood outside the door waiting to be called. The results came back in 10 minutes and of course we are both negatif. There is so little logic to any if this. We didn't need any tests to come to France as we are double vaxxed but to go back home, to a country with a much higher case rate and a slightly lower vaccination rate than here, we need to be tested. J and D will get their 'booster' here next month. I'm still conflicted about 3rd doses. I'm with Sarah Gilbert on this one.

So we now have 2 bits of paper to show we are negative. They last for 72 hours and can be used as a pass sanitaire. We have still had issues with our Scottish ones. The readers in the restaurants don't recognise the paper copies. Neither D nor I could upload our certs to the Tous Covid app but J managed. D and I are Android, she is Apple. Is that the difference? But it doesn't matter as we've never been turned away.

Then to the restaurant L'Olivier de Païolive for a wonderful menu du jour. We started with cocktails, ended with coffee and with 3 courses in between accompanied by rosé wine it was just under £30 a head. The best of French dining.

We were all in need of a siesta when we got home and I lay by the pool with my book but as the sun was hot I opened the pool and had 2 swims.

The evening task was the travel admin - passenger locator forms and boarding passes. The French paperwork has been replaced by the UK paperwork.

Despite our huge lunch we have had an evening snack. I made a mistake at lunch by ordering fizzy water but I brought the bottle home to I could try the sirop de Violette. Not to be repeated!

Only one more day to go and 29 deg is forecast again. One last day of summer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.