A Day In The Life

By Irish59

A Day of Remembrance

MrsP and I watched the ceremonies taking place this morning in NY, the Pentagon, and PA to remember and honor all those lives lost on that horrific day 20 years ago today on 9/11/2001 • We lit a candle at the moment the first plane hit the North Tower, and it’s still burning 6 hours later. It’s a small gesture in memory of the victims, their families, and all those forever impacted by that day • We had recently moved to the house we live in now, not yet working. Still in my pajamas I made a cup of tea and turned on the computer to check email. I’ll always remember the unopened email from a close friend. The subject line read: turn on your tv. So I did. The North Tower was burning and it wasn’t known yet what had happened. The confusion and fear was palpable. I called MrsP to come downstairs, and we stood there together staring at the ghastly image. It was then we saw the second plane hit the South Tower, on live TV. I remember we cried out, hands covering our mouths, realizing then that something was terribly wrong. From that moment on we were glued to the news for days, watching the tragedy unfold. Even from a distance we suffered and cried. Our lives had changed forever. It’s a day we will never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.