The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The gravel blip

A new low? Even by my abysmal standards

I didn't get much gardening done today. Steve and I went to two DIY stores in the morning, to look at fencing and gravel again. (The gravel sample here without a price on it is a quarter of the price of the other samples, by the way!) Didn't buy anything except an orange plastic bucket and a Dutch hoe.

Then CS took me see GG. I hadn't seen her for weeks! Temporarily, she has a live-in carer. She (the carer) is a godsend. GG has a metal plate in her wrist and hand that looks like a lolly stick, and can't use her wrist for much. She is now having regular physio, and will have the plate removed sooner or later. We had lunch in the garden, then GG went back to bed and I set up the router signal extender so that Netflix and iPlayer can be watched downstairs without buffering. Very easy to set up, so I might get one for our house too. Then we did a simple crossword, and caught up with each other's news.

L, the carer, drove us back to my house so that GG could see our garden, which she hadn't seen since I started laying waste to it. While we were there, a mutual friend rang, and she later came over to view the garden too. Steve had been doing sone hoeing while we were out, and I'd been trying to clear cat-lav areas. She was impressed, and may be able to help some more, and her partner might do some digging, which would be great. She's given me some advice on how to start a wildflower meadow area.

Then I started doing some more clearing of rubble that I'd just discovered, and was going to start trimming some brushwood when an old friend messaged to see if I was free for a chat. At this point I realised that the garden could wait. Friends can't. We had a catch-up, we hope to see each other when we are both in Perthshire/Argyll/Lochaber. I hope that will be at Christmas.

CleanSteve cooked supper and I found a steamed pudding well past its sell by date, and we had that too..Must be autumn! Nights drawing in and all that.

Now watching the new episode of Endeavour. It's 1971, and things are getting tense in the UK, with the provisional IRA involved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.