The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Day tripper

I can't believe it. I went to Weston-super-Mare and I forgot to take my phone! No photos of the seaside.

Dave and I went by train, and met on the platform at Weston. Going back, we did manage to travel together as far as Bristol. The train from Stroud took two and a half hours and involved two changes, BUT it was a pleasure to be on board again for the first time in about six months, and to watch the countryside rolling by.

The sun shone, and the waves sparkled. Hmmm, Dave doesn't like walking on sand, it would seem, and there weren't any deckchairs out. He has got rid of his catheter, so is a bit more mobile, which is good news, but of course he isn't any faster. His fitness is improving, though.

In the end, though, we spent far too long in a restaurant (Greek, family owned) because I said I didn't want to eat fish and chips, jellied eels, etc, because they're not gluten free (or I don't like them if they're seafood delicacies). I'd though that 3 hours 47 minutes would be a good length of time to spend there, but it passed in a flash. Next time maybe I'll bring a gf picnic and Dave can fill up on hotdogs from the stalls. Then we can walk to the park/river, which is what he really wanted to do. I find it it difficult managing his expectations, because they're fixed.

I have lived in Stroud for 27 and a half years and I'd only been to Weston (the pier) at night, and the other pier at sunset. Isn't that crazy? I found it more elegant place thanI had imagined. Talk about managing expectations...

The good news is that I spent so long on the train that I was able to finish reading my Shedunnit book club book, Miss Pym Diisposes. It's set in a medical gymnastics boarding college for female students (learning what we might call physiotherapy now, though they have to be able to do all the gymnastic themselves, seemingly to the standards of Nadia Comanenci). I won't spoil it by saying any more, but I enjoyed reading it, unlike last month's read, Death on the Riviera. Most impressive of all, it's only half way through the month and I've finished the book! Yay! Fortunately I have a stack of other Josephine Teys to revisit, and of course some more contemporary books. There's no danger of running out. Ever.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.