The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The House on Lower Street

I've never lived on Lower Street, though I did once have a flat on Middle Street, and rooms on Whitehall. This is in the conservation area of Stroud, also known as the old town (we live beyond the pale). Weavers lived in these cottages and worked from home. The looms had high shafts, so the pitch of the roofs had to be steep.

After meeting with a friend in town for coffee, we toured the various Open Studios, and I got snaffled by another artist on the way home, and invited into his house.i didn't mind. Then I walked home, passing the above dwelling on the way home. I should mention here that I've put a fisheye effect on the main window, to make the most of the reflections on it. A house nearby does have a 'sweet shop-style' bow front window.

A bunch of card orders to be processed was the next item next on my list. By the time I had finished, GG had rolled up (she can just about drive again now), and together we went for a walk to the waterfall in the Heavens. En route, we stopped in the bright afternoon sunshineto sit by the stream. No sound came from thr stream, but we could hear a bunch of musicians singing and strumming not far away. GG said they were serenading us.

We got there and back in one piece. Amazing, because the path is so steep .GG had an accident and broke her wrist on 30th June, and this is the first walk we've had since then. We had tea in the garden at our house, then GG went off on her own, having first gifted me some clothes because she'd had a clear out. Stroud is an endless stream of recycled items.

Then I bought online (at last) a cordless vacuum cleaner, the type with a bag. Does this mean I am now late middle aged, or just behind the curve? Has everyone else already got one, I wondered. I certainly can't be bothered dragging a heavy corded machine up and down the stairs any more.

And now we are just lazing, as one does on a Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.