Crepusculars

Tony struck out for another Corbett close to Aviemore today whilst I started the day more slowly by picking up a large cappucino and a huge piece of millionaire's shortbread from Wild Flour then dropping off postcards in the very friendly Post Office, before following the Glen Road up and out of the village.  The forecast was for possible showers and the sky was already a fabulous mix of dark, threatening clouds and wondrous blue with fluffy clouds.  I had planned to walk to the shepherd's bridge and then turn north up the glen towards one of the Munros in the area, A Chailleach, but as I headed out that way I thought I might detour up Creag Bheag, a hill off to the right of the road, to hopefully get some views.  The extra height did indeed reward me with different views, and rock features to use as focal points.

Back down from Creag Bheag, the skies continued to be glorious and dramatic so I was blipping great light on the surrounding hills.  Walking up the glen, I had to go further than I had planned to get a decent view of the Munro (gaelic for Old Lady, thank you Dianne, cottage owner! And appropriate that this Old Lady was out to blip it).  I was just thinking I needed a wee stop when large raindrops fell all around me and I had to rush to put on my waterproof.   No sooner had I zipped it up the rain stopped, but when I looked up the track there was a perfect rainbow over A Chailleach!  Another super blip.

Descending to the village, I took the Wildcat Trail to avoid retracing my steps, and called in for lunch at the Wild Flour Cafe.  Tony messaged to say he was on his way and we arrived back at The Byre pretty much together.

So which blip to use?!  I managed to narrow it down to three and then consulted with the Family, knowing exactly how helpful that would be!!  Rob suggested I photoshop the cairn in one photo in place of the boulder in another, and Pete said hadn't I taken any pictures of birds?!  Becky and Jenny chose exactly the opposite to each other.  So the upshot is I'm going with the crepusculars taken from the top of Creag Bheag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.