An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Colourful curves...

Early rise this morning as we were heading to Ikea in Glasgow to pick up a table and storage chest for my studio.  The table will sit next to my desk giving me a surface to store my trays with my paints, inks, Brusho, pencils, pens etc.  This means they're within easy reach when I am working at my desk but not taking up all my desk space.  The cabinet will sit underneath and will store all my different papers and my sketch books.  Bargain at £17 for the table and £99 for the drawer cabinet.

We'd just arrived at Ikea when my phoned pinged with a message from RPS Scotland telling me this shot had come joint third in their monthly competition.  

I am so surprised as I only entered it at the last minute.  I usually enter a photo into the competition but with no hope of winning as the competition is so stiff.  When I looked at this month's entries, once again I was sure I didn't stand a chance so I almost didn't enter.  Then I thought what the hell, it's the taking part that counts!   So glad I did now.  I'm especially chuffed for two reasons....1. it was an iPhone shot (proof, to me, that large, expensive cameras aren't the be all and end all in photography) and 2.  My fellow winners are Associates of the RPS and one's a Fellow.  Then little old me!  lol

Once home again David took Lola for a walk then went in the pool with Alan for his hydrotherapy session.  Meanwhile I sorted out the rest of the Ikea purchases i.e. got my paints, inks etc into their new storage trays (leaving the table and storage chest for David to build :-)

I then had a little dabble with my paints, just to try out the new surroundings....and I love it!  So peaceful, lovely light in the garden as the afternoon wore on, four pigeons frolicking on the bars of the golf net and the first of the leaves starting to flutter from the Japanese Maple.  I was so engrossed with what was going on out of the window, all I managed to paint was some colourful swirls (which I've digitally faffed with to make them more interesting! :-) but it was lovely and I had fun so can't ask more than that.

After dinner spent a chunk of the evening getting my Tesco order done.  Well actually getting the order placed didn't take too long.  The deciding on what to have for dinner over the next week did!  Coming up with dinner choices is the bane of my life!  If I won the lottery the first person I would hire would be a personal chef! :-))

Once done we watched an episode of Outlander.  Last episode of Season 2.  Not watched it for a couple of weeks as we were watching Vigil, but we need to get a move on if we want to be up to date before the new season begins in the new year.

Finished off another crochet pumpkin.  Six done now, only another 6 (and counting!) to go! 

And in the blink of an eye it's after midnight.  Again! 

PS Just incase you're wondering, no I didn't buy any tea lights at Ikea ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.