Rock samphire

A much better nights sleep thank goodness, up at 6.30, breakfast. The builders arrived at 7.40am. Keen, I thought. Yogi & I left the house and walked the narrow country road, we joined the river Teign estuary as it was low tide so walked the beach, collecting rubbish as we went. Plenty of birds feeding along the shoreline, a lone swan this side of the estuary but I could see 10 or more across on the far side. There is always plenty to see, a warmer morning than yesterday, which was pleasant surprise. We arrived at Hearn playing field walked a circuit with Yogi fetching the ball but nothing too strenuous, then we walked another section of the shoreline, more rubbish but too much. Yogi created a bit of beach art in the sand, his speciality. We doubled back along the shoreline, I dumped the rubbish in a bin outside the very smart new sailing clubhouse. Back at base, I had a go at knocking down the apples beyond my reach. The builders left, for breakfast, for the day??? Jos & Sandy arrived, parking outside in case the builders returned..... they did'nt. Jos brought teacakes for toasting. No pressure!. Toasted teacakes and coffee plus chatter, laughter. Lunch was provided by me ... courgette & hazelnut burgers, layered with hummus, & griddled courgette slices in brioche buns. More chat & laughter then before we knew it it was time for homemade chocolate brownie, fresh raspberries, & clotted cream. Sandy is the brownie queen. The raspberries were large, & sweet (Aldi) The girls left at 4pm-ish, armed with a few apples, Josie with a bundle of runner beans as well. Yogi & I had a play.
A very enjoyable relaxing day. I love walking the estuary. I could live alongside the estuary. There is always movement. Beautiful!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.