Rotten apples

I put a load in the washing machine before heading off on this morning's walk. Sunshine - rain - sunshine - rain - sunshine. That just about sums up the weather here today. One minute you need 3 layers, the next one. Definitely needed a waterproof for the occasional downpour. Yogi & I walked the road to access the estuary, it cuts out  hill, so very convenient. Many of the birds were preening themselves in the shallows. It's a beautiful area to walk when the tide is out. I must check the tide times too.Low tide 10.24 tomorrow. That's perfect! Back to base I pegged the washing out on the line, I reckon it should dry.
After walking with Yogi, I headed to CK to walk Indie for Mum. We did a loop of CK heath, doing a litter pick coming along the footpath back into the village. It does annoy me when people discard their empty coffee cups along the roadside. Yesterday morning between the time yogi & i left for our walk, & our return someone had thrown away a 3/4 full plastic bottle of Lucozade. I picked it up, emptied the contents, & put it in the recycle bin at the house. GRHHHH! Mum was chatting with her brother on the phone when I returned with Indie. I did'nt stop long this morning as I was popping back to see hubby as well. I dropped a bag of windfall apples off to Chris, the guy on the allotment who very kindly gave me quite a lot of rhubarb through the season. It's nice to reciprocate. Hubby was fine, we had a coffee & chat, then it was time for me to head back to Yogi.
Karen had suggested I put her car in the garage to make the parking easier. Erm!!! It's a Range Rover Evoque, & I had a feeling it would be one of those vehicles where you don't have a key for the ignition. Well, I opened the driver's door, sat in, did'nt know what to do next. It's an automatic which is'nt a problem it's just how to start the engine, so I got out & locked the door. If it's not in the way for the builders who should be here working this week it can stay put. Alec, the robotic mower, was scurrying around the lawn. He's missed quite a few areas, and does'nt collect the grass cuttings so I'm not sure what is actually achieved. The ride on lawn mower did a better job. It was too nice to be indoors so I decided to get the rest of the apples down from the trees. There are just 2 apples left that I can't reach, the remainder I either put in the buckets to bring in, the slightly damaged fruits I've left on a bench in the garden, the rotten fruits, leaves, & twigs went on the compost heap. A quick Blip snap mid task. Yogi pestering me to throw the ball continually. Or should that be ... Yogi continually pestering me to throw the ball? Alec should find it easier going under the apple trees now. I looked at my watch, 2.45pm I have'nt had lunch yet. A toasted teacake fixed that. I sat down with the Sun's Saturday crossword, a coffee & the teacake.
I picked in the washing, sorted a few bits out then it was cider o' clock. Countryfile on tv. I checked when Strictly was on, started making dinner  at 6pm. Gnocchi with a wine & cream mushroom sauce, plus fine green beans from the plot.
Strictly departure night. It was a toss up between the two celebrities.
Right then, time for bed.
Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.