Trainee

In the theatre, where I sometimes work as an audience-host, helping the audience if they need to find their seats and being responsible for the general audience-safety. 
There are also one hour mini shows in the theatre restaurant once a week through autumn, called "Soup-theatre". The audience buy a ticket that entitles them to a nice bowl of freshly made soup, some home made bread and then coffee with some kind of cake afterwards. At the same time as they have their coffee, they get a short hour of entertainment from the stage. The shows are new every week and can be anything from meeting a writer to a show by some well known artist. Usually it's local artists, I played there myself many times. Todays show was a "Radio show from the 50's" with a host talking about things that happened during that era, and an orchestra playing some standard tunes from the time but also some "dreadful rock'n roll music from the states, played by black people".

I was asked if I could be in charge of the sound technique-bit for some of the soup-theatres since the technicians working at the theatre has got too much work to do. It's a job I've done before, many years ago and which today is very different to what it was like then. I've promised them I'll help them out for a few times, so they will get a more reasonable work load. If everything works out well, it may continue into the spring. So, today I walked along side one of the technicians to learn about the new routines. Exciting and scary at the same time but I so value to be asked to do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.