Strawhouse

By strawhouse

Watford

13.09.21
I had a lovely day today in Watford with Mrs S.  I hadn't seen her since December 2019 which is unbelievable. Almost two years!
The traffic on the way was horrific. Aylesbury brought to a standstill because they're apparently digging all of it up, and then Watford blocked off at the M25 because of protesters on the motorway.
But I got there eventually and it was so good to see Mrs S.  We had coffee in Starbucks and then headed to Bills for brunch. Well we planned to have brunch but we chatted too long in Starbucks and by the time we got there they had stopped serving brunch, Sob!
So I had a healthy rice bowl for lunch instead.
It was nice talking to Mrs S about Dom, she's lost two people close so knows what it's like.
Once we said goodbye I walked up to Vicarage Road. Right next door to the football ground is the hospital where Dom was born. We're going up to Wales tomorrow to say goodbye to him on Wednesday and I felt compelled to go and see where his life began, and the stadium next door where we made so many memories. Good and bad!!
I almost had to turn back as I felt overwhelmed the closer I got. 
Dom was with us the first time I took Miss E to Watford and it was such a special day. Walking up today I saw the wall he'd sat on, the bench we'd sat on, as well as the turnstiles we'd walked through hundreds of times, the cemetery wall we sat on in the snow waiting for hours for our mum. So many memories.
Being at the hospital was so hard. He was so amazing and that's where it all began.
I wanted to take a pebble or something with me to take to Wales and I had to laugh as I looked around and it was all scratty gravel and fag ends. Not the most fitting momento. Although it would have made Dom laugh!
Then, as I was feeling sad and a bit stupid for going there, Mrs S messaged to say her car had been nicked. That took my mind off things and I called her to say I'd walk back into town to help. Turns out it hadn't been nicked but was parked on a different floor!! That made me proper laugh and I felt better!
Walking back down Vicarage Road I saw the Graham Taylor mural which I hadn't seen before and then went into the cemetery where my Grandpa is buried. Normally I like wandering through graveyards but today it was a bit too hard.
I sat on a bench outside and called Mr K to cry my eyes out. I can't believe I'll never go to another football match with Dom; walk up that road, eat chips, revel in a glorious win or bemoan another shit performance.
Having abjectly failed to find a nice rock to take I decided to buy some flowers instead. To take from where Dom's life started to where it ended.
Sunflowers.
And all the ingredients for rumless mojitos for the Little Misses.
And chocolate covered marzipan.
Which I ate in the car. Because that's what Dom would have wanted!!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.