McArthur Island Loop

I have no patience
when clouds obscure the sunrise.
A second chance worked!

I was up too early again this morning. I sat with my big mug of coffee waiting to see if the weatherman was going to disappoint me. We'd been promised a sunny day but first views did not give me any optimism. 

I drove off just after 6:30 to get my drive-thru breakfast. I've learned that I'm best to be out before 7 or the line-ups are impossible. I collected my breakfast and headed to Vantage Point to see if there was to be a sunrise this morning. By the time I finished my croissant, my hopes were dashed. I  opted for grocery shopping so as not to waste anymore time. 

When I came in with my shopping bags at 8:15 there was an eerie light coming in behind my mountains. I took a shot of them from my front deck. When I'd cleared my shopping away I noticed that the clouds were disappearing fast. So, that sunny day that was forecast was actually unfolding. 

I snapped up my camera once again and headed off to McArthur Island to drive the loop around from the north side to the south side. I parked near the Butterfly Garden first to have a look at my mountains over the slough. The mallards were in full force, both on the slough and along the shore. The sun pouring in over the water highlighted the changing colours of fall. 

I moved my car to the south side and parked by the playing fields. A set of twin deer were under the trees grazing. Where was mama? The two were rather nervous and responded to any little sound. I watched a magpie tease them. It landed on the backside of one of the twins making it jump and buck. Then the magpied tried again and again. Very annoying bird! 

It wasn't long before mama showed up. She arrived quietly and embraced her little ones licking them all over. 

I left my quilted heart on a bench overlooking the Thompson River, then headed home for the second time. 

I need a haircut this afternoon, then I'll come home to play with fabric again. 

It was certainly cooler this morning at 4 C. We have a sunny day, finally, with a high of 13 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.