Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Another leaf

I was in the garden checking on the fate of this fungus. It had more than doubled in size, but last night the slugs sealed its fate and it was upside down on the ground. Nearby, I found this leaf from our oak tree.

The galls on the under surface are from the common spangle gall wasp. Apparently there are four types of spangle gall wasps and we have to have the common one!

Another quietish day. I ventured into Hexham to M & S. There were two parcels of vests to return (they were quite the wrong type of vest for Mum) and I did some food shopping. They have some delicious looking meals. Mum has just enjoyed a chocolate eclair with her afternoon tea.

The New Zealand funeral late last night was interesting. It was  purely secular funeral but taken by the minister of my cousin's church. I was surprised at how casually dressed people were (apart from my cousin). There was a turn out of over 30 including some staff from the care home.

Peter chose Hey big spender  and Old Father Thames  for the musical interludes. He was a military policeman until he had a severe stroke in his 40s. 

I was able to message my cousin's son to say I had been there from the funeral. It felt important to be sharing in this with them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.