An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy Birthday Andrew!

Even if it is slightly belated :-)

I am pleased to report I had a great sleep last night.  Only woke up once and after a quick trip to the loo, fell quickly back to sleep.  I think my body is getting used to sleeping on my right side.  

Nephew Andrew and his partner Nikki were supposed to come for lunch but Andrew messaged me this morning to say Esme has passed her cold onto him he didn't want to spread his germs, so they reluctantly cancelled.  That's the third lunch cancellation this week.  Think that's a record for us!

David left just after 2pm to meet up with Andrew and his mum in Dundee then bring Andrew here till Sunday.  Whilst he was gone I took the chance to get Andrew's birthday cake decorated with chocolate buttercream and maltesers.  I don't have the patience or finesse to do such a cake justice but I knew Andrew would be pleased, and that's the main thing.

I got my reward when he came into the kitchen, saw it and his face lit up :-))

He and Alan decided to have a lazy day and ended up watching films.  I have no idea what they were watching but hearing their laughter drift up the hall brought a smile to my face.

Before dinner Andrew asked if he could make a birthday card for Ally (whose birthday is on Tuesday). Alan's support worker Kirsten helped him write a message to Ally on the card.  He then came through and asked if I would help him make a thank you card for Kirsten for helping him.  What a lad! :-)

After dinner it was time for Andrew to pose with the cake (more pics in extras) and for me to cut it.  After worrying using a different recipe, it was fine in the end.  The sponge was much lighter than I expected it to be and the butter icing was whipped within an inch of its life in the making, so it was also light and fluffy.  That said, I only managed about half of my slice.  I am definitely losing my sweet tooth.

The rest of the evening was spent with Andrew setting David the task of finding a holiday house in Wlales for next year.  I am not sure he will go home until another holiday is booked!  

Hahahaha....what goes around...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.