New container

Finally, a blip on my camera rather than my phone. It has been a little while… Even so, it was - unusually for me - taken on the Auto settings so it’s not very good quality. However, I was keen to blip my new plant holder, which arrived today from Crocus. I’m rather pleased with it. The main idea of going on the Crocus website was to buy a few herb plants to put in the new planter which I upcycled last weekend, but of course I had to have a look at some other things, and I chanced upon this which was in the sale. I rather like it. It gets another of my big plants off the floor and has the little tray at the bottom for some smaller succulents, thus creating more space on the kitchen windowsill for the ever burgeoning poinsettia to do its thing. I will have to bring some of the small fuchsia cuttings in soon, so I might squeeze them on there too.

I had to trek in today, after some online meetings first thing, because I was part of a party meeting an “RIP” (a relatively important person - specifically in this case the current moderator of the Church of Scotland) in the law school. I wore proper work shoes for the first time in at least two years… In fact, having taken my black shoes in, I left them in the office as I am far more likely to need them there than I am to need them anywhere I might to from home. The trek home was much worse than I envisaged. Gridlock on the Bridges meant I set off walking, and had only passed buses, rather than been passed by them, by the time I got to the bottom of Leith Street. I carried on, hoping perhaps to pick up the 10 at one of its new stops on Annandale Street, but that was not going to happen according to the bus app. It was gently raining most of the way home, as I carried on trudging… Anyway, I’m sure it’s good for me. It therefore cheered me up considerably that my Crocus delivery turned up just as we were sitting down for dinner. And this time Yodel carried it up the stairs, rather than dumping it downstairs by the lift, as Hermes does right now, and then sending an email to say it’s “delivered” along with a picture of the delivery. Mr A had to retrieve some new lights that had come that way from downstairs the other day.

Y’all also need to hear about the saga of my dressing gown…. Yesterday morning, when I got out of bed, I couldn’t locate my dressing gown anywhere. We both searched in every room in this relatively small flat, and it was nowhere to be found. And my dressing gown (which is fleecy) is not a small item… Eventually, we reached the conclusion it had been bundled up with the sofa bed that was collected on Tuesday, and taken away by the British Heart Foundation furniture people (whom we weren’t expecting to see on Tuesday, so they caught me (at the bus stop when they phoned) and Mr A (at home) by surprise by turning up then). Oh well, I sat down after breakfast and ordered a new one, from John Lewis, throwing into the order also a new coffee grinder which had gone kaput on earlier in the week. I also entertained people with stories of my stupidity in losing my dressing gown, particularly on my social media. Then this morning, wearing my spare dressing gown (chilly), I went in our bedroom to get ready to have a shower in our en suite. The background is this: our bedroom has been emptied of all furniture, but has piles of bags and boxes of clothing, and this morning I had to search out some proper work clothing from amongst those bags and boxes. I took my dressing gown off, and went to hang it where it has hung for 16 years, and lo and behold… My favourite fleecy dressing gown was hanging there. Precisely where it has hung for 16 years, but not where it should be hanging now, which is on the back of the spare bedroom door, where we are sleeping. So now I feel even more stupid, consigning my dressing gown to history and buying a new one (which can always be returned I guess, but I’m not that good at that aspect of online shopping), before checking the most obvious place it would be… Behind the door where it has lived for 16 years…. Anyway, I’m expecting Yodel back again tomorrow evening with my new dressing gown, our new coffee grinder and a couple of other items I popped in the order….

Weary doesn’t even come close. What a saga, when all I want at the moment is a simple life….

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.