The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Strolling through the Shambles

I didn't have a stall today, but CleanSteve did. For reasons too boring to explain, my stall is only for Saturday this time round.

In the morning I worked hard to get a load of washing sorted and an online form edited for the millionth time, before GG came round at 12. I'd brought forward our Sunday walk to today, as I had anticipated going over to Dave's new place on Sunday to help him build a flat-pack desk. We took a short walk around Daisybank Park, then GG wanted to talk to our pub landlord, whose mother, a former teacher, had taught all three of her children. Sadly, R, the landlord, told us that his mother, who is 87 and a resident of a care home in Stroud, has CoVid. She no longer recognises him when he visits. He thinks she'll doe imminently. There are six cases of CoVid in the home.

After that distressing news, we drove to the Ship Inn at Brimscombe, as it's recently changed hands and GG wanted to try having lunch there. I'd already lunched there two weeks ago. We enjoyed our meal, but GG wanted to eat outside, and my hands turned blue. Back at the house, GG read through the online form, and I finally submitted it. A lightning packing of the Skoda followed (GG went home) before CleanSteve came home, swapped cars, and drove me to the market. We unloaded and then I had just one hour to set up my stall, which was much larger than usual. I left it looking pretty ropey.

A cup of tea with friend J was next, in Gregg's, whose window you can see on the left of this photo. Next, I walked home, but on the way got a text from an old friend from Wales asking if she could stay over on Saturday night. I rushed home and sorted out the spare room, which was in a muddle, then cooked supper, forgetting about the potatoes. It feels as if I've been up against deadlines all day!

Texted Dave, and he told me that the flat-pack unit was already being assembled his stepdaughter! Cancelled my planned visit on Sunday, and decided to have a free afternoon instead. Time to look after myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.