Mono ......

 ....... Monday404  (MM404)  -  20th C inventions.

Extensive (??) research carried out by me this morning (well, a flit thru' Wiki and MrGoogle).    Conflicting results however I am going with the TV antenna being "invented" by Shintaro Udi along with Hidetsugu Yagi in 1926.

It seems that in 1888 Heinrich Hertz  placed dipole antennas at the focal point of parabolic reflectors for both transmitting and receiving but the Udi-Yagi jobby looks more like the aerials we use today.
Mine (in the photo) is the one I had fitted for my kitchen TV before the renovations back in May.   
Before this was fitted I had the faithful ole "rabbit ears" on the windowsill.


As you can see today is another wet one - hiling down with rain as I type but not cold at all.    The weather prompted me to book a holiday for next September ........... great prices so far in advance!!!!!


FLOWERFRIDAY8_2021 (October)


BikerBear Hearts for:

Green56

Doingok

nangee

CALIFORNIAGIRL1

davidc

Terrifo

BikerBear Honourable Mentions for:

GoranZebuhr

Kelso

Shutterup

Incredibish

Alichap

MrsLinda

Six of each this week - hard to choose five!!   Thank you to the 110 participants on the 8th.    
I am posting "on the day" AND nearly caught up with the sprinklings - go me!!

Smile for the Day:


It's such a shame that virtually nothing is built in the UK nowadays  -  I just bought a television and on the box it says "Built in Antenna"  -  I don't even know where that is!!


:o)) 

~ Anni ~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.