Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Today was unnerving. The moment I saw smoke rising from the mountains through my window this morning, I knew it was in Madera Canyon.  A small wildfire started around 9 pm last night. It has burned 7+ acres so we're not talking about some huge, dangerous fire. I have heard that the forward progress of the wildfire was stopped late this afternoon, but crews will likely be in the area for several days before the fire is completely contained.

The Super Trail and Old Baldy Trail are closed and hikers are cautioned to avoid the area. Drivers cannot get to the top of the road in the canyon. Those trails lead to the highest points of the mountain (Old Baldy is its nickname) and the fire never threatened the areas I generally visit. The cause of the fire is undetermined, however, the weather was fine so it had to be man-made.

I drove up to the viewing area but only after I called to check on the situation. I got another photo of a Red-naped sapsucker.  I made it a soft  mono as a reminder of how fragile our world really is. What we see, what we love and what makes living on earth so special can be gone forever in minutes.

I'm completely caught up on my vacation and this week's blips. If you have a minute, have a look at the ones I posted from Madera Canyon. I even gave a little bit of Rivoli's history!! I think they're worth a peek. I personally think they're some of my best hummingbird photos. Ever.

Rivoli's hummingbird  (male) in flight
A second Rivoli's hummingbird (male) also in flight 
(with a berry eating Sapsucker)
Female Rivoli's hummer coming in for a landing
A puffy female Broad-billed hummingbird hiding in a Pyracantha bush

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.