Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Bad Shoes! Bad!

For the second day in a row I woke up on the right side of the bed. I was looking forward to seeing Marco, my landscaper, early this morning. He’s a nice young man and does a great job for me.

My knee had been bothering me so I thought I would switch up my shoes. I found out the hard way that they are very grippy. I took about two steps onto the carpet from the kitchen tile and took a forward fall but slightly onto my right side. Thank goodness Marco was here to help me up.

I was afraid I fractured my hip because I was in so much pain. (I didn’t)

After seeing him off, I drove myself to the hospital where I was lucky enough to score a hall bed stuck in a cubby. I didn’t really mind because at least I was able to lay down. Was taken for x-rays then given a muscle relaxer. I slept for a couple of hours (they said I didn’t snore)

Turns out I have severe arthritis in my spine: L4-L5 and L5-S1. With all of the imaging over the years I can’t believe it wasn’t spotted before now. It does explain a lot.
When I fell, the blow aggravated the arthritis.
I’m taking something for pain and muscle relaxers, probably for about three days.

Tried to schedule an ER follow up with my NP, but she’s booked into December. Will see someone I don’t know at one of the clinics I have never been to.

Had to cancel today’s neurology appointment and tomorrow’s appointment to get that sleep device fixed.

Bad shoes! Bad!

I’m going to postpone my joie de vie until this weekend but I swear it will come soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.