A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Escaping

Earlier this summer I blipped a Honeysuckle fighting it’s way through this fence in the front garden. Now we have this lovely Nasturtium. I don’t mind as I love these and have never succeeded in growing them successfully, I will hang on to the seed heads for next year.

I cannot escape at the moment. My NHS app is flashing a big red 8 for the number of days remaining of my isolation. I’m not feeling too bad, a bit like the third day of a typical cold. Very little coughing or streaming, the most significant thing being a loss of my sense of smell though my taste seems to be still ok. Strangely I’ve seemed to want to clean today, need to put a stop to that! 

With blipfoto of course it doesn’t matter that I’m in isolation as I ‘meet’ with my blip friends everyday. This was also the case through all the Covid lockdowns that we have experienced over the last 18 months, blip carried on helping us to meet with our virtual family if not our real families. To me this is the strength of blip. I enjoy the photography but it is the blip family that keeps this site very special. I’ve been lucky to meet blippers across the world but there are many more that I haven’t met and maybe never will, but they are part of my life every day.
I love seeing the change of seasons in the Southern Hemisphere, spring arriving as we head into autumn and how cultural events are celebrated in different parts of the world. Being if a certain age I have become a grandmother during my blip life and I’ve had the privilege of sharing this with other blip grannies enjoying seeing their grandchildren grow along side mine.

I am one of the 500 blippers who have been here more than ten years. A while to go to get my bronze camera (780 blips to go) but I’m looking forward to it. I do remember founder members having a designated flag in the early days so congratulations to them on this recognition.
I remember the red balloons for the 10th blip anniversary, how time flies and what big changes there have been since then.
Happy 17th birthday blip! Here’s to many more.

Thank you all for you concern yesterday you are a wonderful bunch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.