Capital adventures

By marchmont

Happy birthday Blip

17 years old today, almost an adult!  I don't go back to 2004, though I wish I did.

I joined Blip on 29 December 2010 after seeing a huge lit up sign at the Hogmanay celebrations in Edinburgh about blipping in 2011 and that was me, hooked. It came at the right time for me.  It gave me purpose at a time in my life when purpose had been taken away from m.  I've  some back blips pre 29.12.10 (to March 2007) but my since December 2010 it's been my life.  I've recorded happiness and sadness, divorce, bereavement, marriage, births, new homes, new jobs and overseas travel.  I've blipped from Scotland, England, Ireland, Malaysia, Doha, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Thailand, Singapore, Australia, New Zealand, France, Spain, Italy. I've met blippers in NSW, Wanaka, Phnom Penh, Anstruther and of course Edinburgh.  I've watched people I've never met do the  most amazing things, and I've shared their sadness and happiness from afar. And I've cried when blippers who I have followed have died. 
This is the most amazing space and it charts my life, my ups and downs and Love being able to look back and see what I was doing, thinking on the same day year before year. I am so grateful for the group who have kept this amazing site going for the benefit of the whole blip community.  Long may it continue. 


Happy, happy, happy birthday Blip and my fellow blippers.


Today was an ordinary day.  The nerve pain has inexplicably improved.  May have been the rest I had yesterday afternoon. I braved the cold morning to swim, indoors of course, and then did some work.


In the afternoon It started the great decorator search,  and forayed to the PO to deposit a note taken out in December 2019 and finally did some work on College committees with M.  It's like playing chess. 


Nothing else of note happened though I've ramped up the heating. Catching up with Monday's 'Blair and Brown' and Richard Osman second opus, lent by Y next door. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.