Frost and Sunshine

It was a bright and
glorious sunrise after
two, wet rainy days

~ carliewired

I was up very early sipping coffee, then out on my deck at 8 AM waiting for the sun to appear around my mountains. It was -4 C, calm and clear. I admired the sumac trees beside my deck, now in full autumn colour. 

At 9, I drove across to the downtown and Riverside Park. A very beautiful day was unfolding. Leaves on the ground were frosted around the edges. Leaves floated to the ground from the trees and littered the walkways. I swished through the leaves on my way to the pier to get a good view of my mountains and the cottonwoods in gold. A pair of trumpeter swans graced the river near the pier. I would have thought that they would have been on their way south by now. Or perhaps this is 'south' if they came out of Alaska. I took note of the snow dusting on the upper ridges above the city. It shines bright on this sunny day. 

I made a quick stop at the quilt store for some additional fat quarters, then I was off home for lunch. 

The forecast promises a sunny day with a high of 6 C. I will enjoy it at home. Hopefully, we'll have another day just like this tomorrow. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.