River Fog, Cold Birds

Another dazzling
morning, but I missed sunrise -
sleep was my excuse!

I was late to the game today. I slept in until almost 9. I looked out off my deck to see fog lying over the South Thompson valley and bands of cloud over the tops of the mountains with the sun shining through. It was -4 C making my deck a bit slippy. 

I drove across the bridge to the south shore with a hope to get some long views of the city. I drove up Rose Hill Road from its north end. I can see across the sagebrush hills to the downtown, across the valley to Mt. Peter and Mt. Paul and out to the east along the South Thompson River. I watched the fog slowly lift off the river and evaporate. The sky was clear and blue. 

I picked up my breakfast before driving back across the bridge. I thought I might find some Hallowe'en decorations to add in today, but many are now inflatable. They are plugged in after dark, but deflate into piles of misshapen plastic during the day. Several of my neighbours have gone all out for Hallowe'en this year, but their displays are a disappointment in daylight. I gave up. 

As I drove down the hill to my house there were several chukars in my driveway. I stopped to get photos of them hunched down in the shade looking rather cold and dejected. I haven't seen them for several months now. I thought perhaps something awful had happened to them. I leave oatmeal in a ground feeder for them, but had to remove it from my front yard after a bear chomped it in September. I must put it out again. I was pleased to see that this little band has survived. It must have been a tough summer for them in the grasslands. 

We're looking at a sunny day with a high of 5 C. I'll be busy in the house today. It will be a quiet one. We don't get trick or treaters in this neighbourhood. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.