Grey and Blustery

A slow start to my
Sunday morning - windy and
grey does not inspire

~carliewired

I enjoyed my coffee and took my time with it. Outside, the day is overcast and the wind continues to gust. The weather does not motivate me to get out there with my camera. It was almost 10 AM when | was driving across the bridge to Riverside Park. 

I parked by Heritage House so I could walk down to the pier. There was definitely a murder of crows scouring the park. They squawked and squabbled as I walked through them. 

I stopped just short of the pier to get a panorama of the confluence of the two rivers and my mountains. That growing sandbar in the middle catches my interest. Something startled the string of gulls and they took off to return shortly. Canada geese were on the river in little groups. One immature eagle had parked himself over a dead salmon on the sandbar. No other birds were getting close to him. I zoomed in on the colours along the far shore. I love those splotches of burgundy in the mix. 

I made a brief stop at the grocery store in the downtown. I had my list in my pocket. To my great surprise a young clerk handed me a bouquet of flowers as I was about to leave. A senior gentleman came along the aisle and held his bouquet up to show me. "It's been a very long time since a young lady handed me a bouquet of flowers!", he said, "I think the next one I get will probably be on my casket!". We had a good laugh.

I was home with my take-out breakfast just after 11. I'm in for the day now. I might just do nothing and have a nap!

We have a mainly cloudy day with a high of 15 C. Looking ahead in the forecast we could be seeing some snow by Thursday. Yikes!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.