carliewired

By carliewired

47 F / 8 C

Antelope Island
is a unique and special
place on the planet

~carliewired

We were let down by our hotel this morning. We discovered that there was no creamer for coffee so we took ourselves away to a nearby restaurant for breakfast before driving off to Antelope Island State Park. 

Antelope Island sits in the Great Salt Lake and is home to antelope (pronghorn), bison and Rocky Mountain sheep. It is one of my favourite locations on this planet. Today, in glorious sunshine, was another enjoyable visit for me.

We just missed the annual roundup of the bison herd of about 750 animals. It was last Saturday. 

We drove the route between the visitors' centre and the Feilding Garr Ranch. I found some horses at the ranch who really weren't interested in having their pictures taken. I stopped in the old ranch house to admire the quilts on the beds. 

The main attraction for me today was the bison. Only the big daddies were available for photos. A few were wandering near the main road. The surprise for me was watching small flocks of birds land on the individual bulls and flutter around. I think these particular birds were starlings. 

We enjoyed our visit to the island, then headed back into Layton, Utah for an early dinner. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.