carliewired

By carliewired

40 F/ 7 C

A day behind the
wheel with grand views and sunshine
plus a little stress!

~carliewired

We were up, breakfasted, gassed up and gone just after 9. Our goal for the day was to make our way from Baker City, Oregon to Layton, Utah. The route was largely Interstate 84.

I caught the last of the moon over the mountains just after sunrise. The whole car was well frosted. I had to sit it facing the sun for a few minutes to melt the front windshield. 

We encountered several flags at half mast as we did earlier. I believe the gesture is to acknowledge those who were killed or injured by the gunman in the state of Maine this past week. 

The Snake River featured largely in our travel today. We followed beside it and crossed over it several times. 

The drama for the day occurred when I failed to pay attention to the fuel gauge of my vehicle. We found ourselves 55 miles short of our destination and running on empty. I pulled over, called my auto club and arranged for a service vehicle to deliver some gasoline at the roadside. I took a shot through my front windshield looking out at Interstate 84.

It made us about an hour late arriving at our motel in Layton, Utah and watching the last light of the day fading in the west.  We made a quick stop for dinner, then tucked ourselves in for an early night. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.