He's in charge .... for now

Got the bus around 1.15pm to go to the match.  Sat beside an elderly lady.  She started talking to me around halfway to Newcastle.  She noticed I had a Kipling bag - and informed me that she owned 152 Kipling bags plus assorted suitcases, umbrellas, purses and pouches.  She was carrying a Kipling bag today and inside was a Kipling purse, phone case and a little pouch. And she was off to town to ... guess what ... buy another Kipling bag.  She wanted one in the same pattern as her purse.  I thought I was a handbag addict - and I do love my Kipling bags - but this 83 year old lady is in a league of her own.

Got off the bus near the railway station so that I had a longer walk to the football ground ( trying to get more steps ) As you can imagine Newcastle was packed with football supporters - all heading in the same direction.  ( the attendance at the match was 52,208)

Before kick off Wor Flags unfurled another huge flag in the Gallowgate end - " We Are The Mags " ( Newcastle's nickname is The Magpies ). I've included a photo in my collage. The other shots show the caretaker manager Graeme Jones - thought I would feature him as this was probably his last game in charge.  Hopefully the search for a new permanent manager will be over soon.

On to the match.  Newcastle were terrible.  No attacking play to speak of and the defence was poor.  They managed to keep the score to 0 - 0 uintil the 65th minute when Chelsea scored.  The visitors scored twice more so the final score was Newcastle 0 Chelsea 3.  Lots of Newcastle fans didn't even see the last Chelsea goal ( a penalty ) as they had already walked out. 

So Newcastle still haven't won a match this season. Chelsea are top of the Premiership table with 25 points.  Newcastle are second bottom with a measly 4 points. Even if we get a new manager I fear thing won't change too much for the better as we are stuck with the same group of players.  But I guess you need to be an optimist when you are a football supporter so I will just hope for the best.

After the match I popped into Waitrose for a few bits and then got the bus home.  It was a double decker so there were plenty of seats.

Steps today - 8,972

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.