Witches

It was still dark when I went out for my walk this morning, which was just after BB had headed off to pre-school fitness.  He wasn’t keen, but he went.  I then spent the rest of the day at my laptop, pretty much on back to Teams calls, with one phone call – which was almost a novelty, except it wasn’t a great line and the other person was driving, which always makes me nervous for some reason.
 
So BB started with a fitness session, had three periods of PE, then went to rugby training.  In amongst all that he went to orchestra for the first time since before march 2020, and I assume he had some regular school work fitted into his day somewhere.
 
TT was at work, then went straight to a meeting at church, so he was home late.
 
We’ve all been busy.  I had to go out in the dark tonight for my steps.  It was incredibly windy, but unbelievably mild.  I came back and ordered some Christmas presents online – this was not planned, but made use of a couple of discounts I found in my in box.
 
The mural in town has been changed.  I saw the artist at work one day, but he had just started and I didn’t know what it was going to be.  Witches.  

The mural draws attention to the 219 residents of Haddington who are known to be accused of witchcraft in the 16th and 17th centuries, at least fourteen of whom were found guilty and put to death. These were ordinary people just like you and I, the only difference being that we, unlike them, are fortunate to live in the 21st century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.