Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

A snatch of autumn

The weather was terrible this morning, as it was in most of the country. The cats sat and looked disconsolately through the glass of the conservatory. Daisy was mainly inside; Oscar went in and out. It was very wet for them.

After lunch, the rain suddenly stopped and the sun appeared. I grabbed my camera bag and headed for Acomb Woods, remembering that the hour change meant that there was not long before the light disappeared.

First, I met some canoeists who had been on the North Tyne. It was very wild out there with white caps down the river. This one - I forgot to ask his name - had been capsized a couple of times, but seemed none the worse. The others teased him about it.

My walk was magical. The light was so attractive on the trees, particularly the beeches. My extra is one of the largest trees in this wood.

This morning Margret (next door) came to see us. I updated her cordless phones to the correct time. This afternoon, Margaret (across the road) came. She brought a fantastical bird sculpture, made with rich fabrics and standing on two impressive legs, for Mum to see. The colours were good for Mum's lounge, but we agreed we did now have room for anymore livestock!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.