Autumn on the Slough

A sombre start, yet
some blue sky appears to give
me encouragement

~ carliewired

I stalled my exit this morning with hopes the weather would improve for my jaunt with my camera. My little red bomber has been put into storage for the winter. I needed to fill the gas tank in my old pickup before venturing too far. 

I drove into McArthur Island Park and parked by the Butterfly Garden, now in its winter state. Everything was wet and soggy this morning. 

As I walked up to the foot bridge, two birds flew up onto a tree by the edge of the slough. They made a great deal of racket as if arguing with one another. I tried to take a picture of one and have included it in my photo quilt. I guessed they were kingfishers, although I've not seen one before. Checking with my bird guide, I am right. My poor photo is only for my evidence, not anyone's enjoyment. I watched this one poised above the slough, dive down to the water's surface and then skim along the edge of the slough and disappear. I didn't know we had kingfishers! 

I moved along to the end of the foot bridge where a family group was happily feeding the mallards. The ducks were performing their usual antics. When the family had emptied one bag of food onto the ground, they moved down the slope to the edge of the water to feed the ducks there. The group of ducks at the top by the bridge hoovered up the meal and then trooped down the slope to the family hoping for more. One mama duck eyed me expectantly, but I had only my camera in hand. 

I walked onto the bridge and took a photo looking back to the Butterfly Garden and my old pickup. Reflections in the water were a great distraction for me today. I eyed up the red berries, the dried leaves and old summer vegetation. Blue sky began to appear in the west. I headed for home with a very large coffee. 

Our weather is to remain cloudy, damp and mild. We might expect a high today of 12 C. We had the prospect of some snow flurries for Saturday, but that has been changed to showers instead. The next sunny day is forecast for Monday. 

I am home today making some decisions about fabric for quilt blocks. I will enjoy the day with my radio as company. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.