Following the First Snow

A kick of cold and
some early snow to get our
attention - WINTER!

~carliewired

I was up early in the dark but too afraid to switch on the deck lights to see what was waiting outside. I went back to bed and was determined to sleep in. It had started to snow about 2 PM yesterday and kept up well past dark. I was certain that there would be no good reason to be in a hurry in the morning. I assumed there would be a big cleanup needed in the driveway before I could do much else. 

I made my coffee at 9, sat in my recliner and took my time with my big mug. At 9:30 I put on my winter wear and boots to go out to clear the driveway. To my great delight, there wasn't much more than a layer of slush to deal with. I pushed it off to both sides of the driveway with a great deal of satisfaction!

I launched myself off to Tranquille. I was hoping for some peace and solitude. I caught a westbound freight coming out of the city. I looked west to the wetlands pond. Canada geese are still filling the hayfields. I would have thought they'd all be gone by now. The day is warming up so the snow is melting at a quick pace. It seems odd to see the dried summer weeds peeking up through the snow. The roads in the city are wet but clear. I zoomed home for lunch. I got a shot of my mountains shrouded in low cloud and dusted with the first snow of the season.

I'm in for the day. My daughter is sorting my library of books and restocking the bookshelves. What would I do without her?

We have a cloudy day with a chance of some rain showers and a high of 8 C. Temperatures will begin to chill over the weekend. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.