A Convocation of Eagles

Grey and gold was the
colour palette this morning.
The brights are all gone. 

~ carliewired

I had to wait for the post office to be open before I ventured out this morning. At 9, I was in line at the desk with all my packages and paperwork. To send a parcel internationally has become something of an ordeal. Canada Post wants you to process the customs form before you come to the counter. I've had some practice with it now, but the website is not user-friendly and has many glitches. I use some very bad language while I am on their site. 

My next stop was the grocery store for a few essentials. I bumped into a friend while loading the front seat of my old pickup with the grocery bags. We had a wee chat, then I was off to the next stop, my drive-thru breakfast, now rather late. With that in hand, I drove to Vantage Point on the Thompson River. 

I took my time with my breakfast, savouring the coffee to the very end. I watched people on the far shore walking their dogs. I saw an eagle looking out over the river from a perch in a cottonwood tree. I enjoyed the gulls' aerobatics over the river. 

It was 8 C, mild and grey. I pulled on my toque to keep my ears warm as there's always a breeze along the river. I walked west along the Rivers Trail towards Kamloops Lake. 

My surprise today was the gathering of eagles of varying ages on the foreshore. They stood with their feet in the river for the most part. Occasionally, one or more would take off and return quickly. I imagine they were focussed on some food source there. 

I turned back to my pickup while admiring the colours along the pathway. It is littered with cottonwood leaves and edged with vegetation now dried and faded from summer. The rocks have various lichens rich in colour. I think I've found the wild asparagus I'd heard grows along the river. 

I was home before noon. I will have another quiet day with my sewing machine and the radio. 

It's a cloudy day with a chance of showers this afternoon and a high of 10 C. It's so dark that I need my lights on inside. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.