A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Morning in Leeds

Got the bus and train into Leeds this morning. I had something to collect and wanted to visit the haberdashery in John Lewis.

Must be getting on for two years since we were there, apart from going to Leeds station for a connection to the SW. The station itself seems to be finished now and the concourse does seem more spacious and warmer.

I’d hope to find something interesting to blip but everywhere was decorated for Christmas. I’m pretty sure they were the same decorations from 2 years ago which is OK but I’m not posting anything Christmassy until at least the end of the month!

We headed up to the cafe in John Lewis for a coffee and I spotted this ice cream cart. I just had to blip it even if it may be considered advertising.

It made me decide to add the picture of Jude that was sent to me last night. Grace had sent my some lovely ones taken in the sun in Blaise Park, Bristol, where I was exactly a year ago with the family, but this, taken when they got back, just made me laugh. Jude’s going to be quite a character I think!
It was a cold day so obviously layers were needed but unlike the blip of Eda earlier in the week Jude isn’t wearing anything here that I knitted, despite my son’s assumption that I did!

Back by lunch with good, lucky train and bus connections. I must say the new trains on Northern are a delight.

Must just mention it is ‘Plot Night’. No doubt there will be lots of loud bangs later from fireworks and I do feel for people with animals who hate it. Our cat doesn’t seems bothered by it at all thank fully.

I’m sure the fireworks are more ‘bang’ than they used to be but I have to say that this used to be one of the best nights of the year for me when I was a child. We spent weeks progging (collecting wood) and I had my small box of fireworks and sparklers ready for days - crazily I used to play with them!
We lived on a farm and had to wait till milking was over by which time many other bonfires were blazing away in the nearby farms and houses, I used to be deparate to get started. The bonfire was down in the fields well away from the farm animals and everyone contributed food: plot toffee, jacket potatoes, pie and peas, Yorkshire parkin or Parkin pigs, all delicious. It was always freezing with just wellies on your feet but I wouldn’t have missed it and it’s memories for the world. Halloween seems to have taken over here now as a celebration but when we first moved here there was a village bonfire in the park which unfortunately topped a few years later. Covid seems to have stopped other large organised bonfires.
If you are fortunate to be having one I hope you enjoy it safely and think about those animals who don’t appreciate the bangs.

Happy weekend everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.