A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Poppies

We see Halloween decorations and Christmas decorations well ahead of their time so it’s really nice to see two remembrance tributes on consecutive days ahead of Armistice day, which is a week today and Remembrance Sunday the following weekend.

Whilst shopping in Bingley yesterday I saw the poppies draped over the gate posts at Myrtle Park. I think this is where the Remembrance Day Parade starts, it certainly used to be.

The other poppies are outside our church. I saw them for the first time this morning when setting out for our early walk at 7.30am. Chris put the cross up with the help of our son a couple of weeks ago at the request of our local WI.
I think they look great and it’s good to see them for more than a couple of days to help us to remember. It’s good to see this resurgence in people wanting to commemorate those lost.

I enjoyed the walk with the ladies this morning, first time for a few weeks. We also had our usual man and a couple of dogs.
I walked mainly with M ( the man) and felt very pleased that I kept up and we even lead the group for some of the time. (Wasn’t sure if I would struggle after Covid.) It was a lovely morning, if a bit nippy,  but I thoroughly enjoyed being out again.

Got home to a face time with Grace and Jude and then got some washing out,  a lovely day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.