A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Remember, remember …

…gunpowder, treason and plot!

Well I failed to find anything relation to bonfire ( plot)  night whilst out in Bingley this morning and although we may see some distant fireworks tonight I doubt they will be close enough for a blip. 

I used to love bonfire night as a child, second only to Christmas. Living on a farm we had a great fire, for which we had been collecting wood (progging) for weeks, with all the farm cottage families gathering down the fields with food and fireworks. I loved playing with the fireworks beforehand and we always had a sparkler IN THE HOUSE before setting off!!

When we moved here there was a village bonfire but they ran out of volunteers so it stopped and Bingley used to have a huge community bonfire in Myrtle Park but that folded when Bingley Round Table gave up.
They had a fantastic fireworks display which we could see from our bedroom window.

One thing we try to keep going is some of the food. We will have pie and peas for tea and I have bought some Yorkshire Parkin. If you are not familiar with this it is a type of ginger cake made with oats.

We used to have ‘plot’ toffee often made with treacle and parking pigs which were more of a biscuit.

I was going to use the Parkin for my blip but when I got home Bluebell was drinking out of the birdbath (she does have a dish of water inside!)  so I managed to get a few snaps of her through the window. Just right fur Silly Saturday. I could have called it ‘Bluebell amongst the fuchsias with walking trouser legs!’ I’d washed them as they got rather muddy on our early walk yesterday but it’s too damp out there today for drying.

If you are having a bonfire or going to one tonight I hope you have fun and stay safe and dry. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.