A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Mish mosh

Last week Grace contacted me to say she had lost Jude’s gilet in a park and did I have a picture she could put on a local mums Facebook.

To cut along story short it was found but I did have a look to see if I had enough yarn to make another. I gave it to Jude in Scotland back in June so not surprisingly she is getting a bit big for it.  There wasn’t enough of the original blue and grey for another gilet a size up, but I had enough of similar yarns if I used them to make a striped ‘mish mosh’ of colours! The pale lilac ( looks almost white) is from a hooded jacket for I made for Jude and the mauve pink I used for the edgings is from a cardigan I recently made for Eda.
The buttons are the only thing I have bought which I got yesterday in John Lewis haberdashery dept.

Why silly? I’ve decided it don’t like doing stripes, despite weaving in the ends of each row you end up with lots of threads to sew in. And although I took care when positioning the buttons, the first photo I took showed the middle two were not matching up the stripes when fastened! Also why put pockets in something like this for a little one?  I’m sure I thought this when I knit the first one but I still did the same on the second. Anyway hopefully it will come in useful in the spring.

One thing I’ve learned is it’s good to take a picture of your knitted items, not just for blip but in case it gets left behind somewhere at some point in the future!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.