Windmill 'De Noord', Schiedam - BLIP Nr. 3-2-8-5

My 9th year in this community.
My 200th windmill.

Cloudy, but not hopelessly so.  I'm actually happy I've reached this point.  Still recall when I first began, wondering if I could muster the patience to continue, wondering also what to shoot.  Well, there's always something to shoot now.

'De Noord' = 'The North'.
'Schiedam' = 'SHKHie-dum' ...... after the river Schie 
This is the 6th windmill in Schiedam, so two more to go.  Determined to shoot it for today, as a double whammy is easier to remember, at least for myself.  Had it been raining, I would have shot indoors, of course.

'De Noord' is the TALLEST WINDMILL in the WORLD = 18.5 meters high.
It is no longer possible to explore it because a restaurant now occupies the lower floors.   There's an extra with the 'Palm Boom' (PaLm Bome) = 'Palm Tree' in the background, the first Schiedam windmill I shot for the series.  You'll notice that the sky isn't exactly grey but a very light blue because of the thinnish veil of cloud overhead.  That veil refused to budge, unfortunately, but never mind.  Already happy that it didn't rain.

AW's back slightly better... haha!  Slightly!  Means a lot to us.  Some housework for me, and in the evening he drove to his Tuesday live bridge session, again finishing fourth, while I continued with my review.  I have to put here that I've been sleeping well the past week now.  Maybe because it's cooler?  It feels as though a load has fallen off my shoulders, but if I were asked what it was I wouldn't be able to say.  Enjoying the feeling as it doesn't come often.

THANK YOU ALL for being so supportive all this time!  I've met several of you through the years, and some of you have become very close friends.  I treasure your friendship more than you know.  Not being a really social person, I'm happy already with the little bit that there is.  What a fab community to be a part of.  My deepest thanks to the organizers for continuing to do the marvelous work they do.

I hope you are not too tired of my windmills yet.  :D)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.