Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Remembering

Several days before my snowbird next door neighbors, Barbara and Bill were scheduled to arrive here from their home in Michigan, Barb suffered a stroke. She had surgery and was in ICU. Yesterday afternoon, surrounded by her family, she passed away. They had been married for 60 years.

She and Bill spent 13 winters next to me with  our patios facing each other. I remember our conversation the day they first arrived and I knew immediately we would be great neighbors. I was happy to find a portrait I had taken of her a few years ago. Several of us made this little memorial in their front yard.

Besides them both being volunteers in the community, Bill was the President of our HOA board of directors. I’m confident we have seen him for the last time, too.  Was wrong. He still came. I’ll send gave him the framed portrait.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.