The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

What season is it?

It's mild, for sure! I had some interesting news by phone this morning, but I can't say much more than that at the moment. It's good.

Set up the new rat bait station with Steve (the last one was stolen by squirrels or badgers, lock stock and barrel), got some parcels together, went to town. Posted the parcels.

Picked up the boys, took them to the park, them home. Had a good session (mainly) until the end, when twin A. wanted to paddle in some water. I fetched him a tub of water, placed in the kitchen. He tried to sit in it, in his trousers! I suggested he take them off, and at this point discovered the poo-accident. We cleared this up. He sat in the water, and it overflowed on to the floor. He splashed happily in the 'puddles'. His twin came along and tipped the remaining water on to the floor. They started scampering delightedly. The marble floor was slippery. The grandparents knocked on the window. I brought both boys (why do they always end up naked, whatever the season? Are they allergic to clothing? ) to the door in case they slipped on the floor. I cordoned off the marble kitchen floor with the new chairs, so I could mop it before anyone slipped on it. Luckily there was underfloor heating and I could open the door. Meanwhile, grandmother supervised the twins on the indoor bouncy castle. I left bang on time, I am pleased to say.

Went to meet friend J at Costa's, but the staff had decided to close early. Went to another cafe, Loganberry, but sat outside a shop called Cornflower and Calico. People passed and we nodded hello. The sky grew duskier, but the air was not cold. It's only November! One of my boys from nursery last year went by with his mother and their dog. I miss the child sometimes, he is at school now, wearing a clean white shirt and big-boy trousers.

Birds began to murmurate over the high street, swooping and zooming over the rooftops and chimney pots. I felt we were in a film, until the bird poo began to splatter our clothing. I wiped it off with s facemask. We cleaned our hands with hand sanitiser, then went to Iceland. I had no facemask that wasn't pooed on, so I wore a large blue trolley-handle-cleaning tissue. I bought a cheap curry, and noted that Walker's crisps were in stock (though not ready salted, you can't get them anywhere).

Walked home with J, the long way round, via the launderette and up the hill and onto the red bench for more chat. On up the hill, down past the registry office, the Scout hut, the Jamaican church of Prophecy, the church of England, the hospital, the park, the pub and finally the streetlights leading in a straight line to my front door.

That was my Thursday. I hope I never lose my memory, but if I do, these entries may serve to jog it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.