North Side

A day with errands
and obligations, my jaunt
comes second today

~ carliewired

I made an effort to be out at 8. It was 7 C and overcast so no sun could be seen at all. I stopped at the grocery store for essentials. I took my last parcels to the post office. Then I was free to do a little wander with my camera on the north side of McArthur Island. 

I parked by the north entrance and walked along the Rivers Trail for views into the slough. The water is very shallow. The ducks ruled the slough this morning until just as I was leaving, a mob of Canada geese arrived very noisily. I noted recent beaver damage to the trees along the slough. 

Ducks must spend all their waking hours in the search for food. I see them scour through the green grass beside the playing fields. They scoop and dive in the slough constantly. It can't be easy being a duck in winter. 

Our coast is on the alert for yet another Pacific storm rolling in with rain and high winds. We might expect some effects here, but on a much reduced scale. The forecast is for a high of 12 C with a chance of showers. I doubt that we'll see the sun today. 

I'm home to cut fabric with my fabulous new quilting ruler. I don't feel like cooking today. I will make the most of my leftover meatballs. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.