New Snow

Three inches of white
was added to my driveway
overnight - now sun!

~carliewired

It was something of a lost morning today. My daughter and I were out on the driveway before 7 clearing away the snow from overnight. She needed to use my car for an early appointment so we needed to get to work so she could be off. She started with the big shovel, then soon came back inside to whisper "He's out there! Bring your camera!"

We soon had the front all cleared and my camera was at the ready. The neighbour was out with his shovel. We were waiting to see if he would add to the heaps of snow he'd left out on the street on November 7th.

 My daughter went inside while I stood in the garage with my camera over one arm and my cell phone in the other. The neighbour continued shovelling my other neighbour's driveway while giving me furtive glances. I pretended to focus on my cell phone but I kept an eye on him. He moved back to his own driveway and I continued my surveillance. Not once did he add so much as a shovel full onto the heaps. He moved the snow onto his lawn and pushed the snow up into the cedar hedge on the other neighbour's area. He was following the bylaws as put to him by the city worker on Saturday, November 26. So, he's proved to me that he does understand what he's to do and what he's not to do. AND he's proved to me that he can find correct places to move the snow, not out onto the cul de sac. 

I called the bylaw officer back to tell her what happened this morning and to thank her for her diligence. I didn't bother to tell her I had my cell phone and my camera with me. LOL!

While my daughter was out with my car, I made a connection with a local company that deals in security cameras. At 11 AM a young man arrived to assess the location and begin to prepare an estimate for me. I think I may have a couple of security cameras in my future! I cannot stand and watch my neighbour after every snowfall, but my cameras can. 

I zipped out to Vantage Point for a quick look around. It was interesting to see the footprints in the new snow. The sun was just beginning to peek out and there were small streaks of blue sky. Across the river and on a snowy sandbar I could see something dark sitting in the snow. I zoomed in to see an eagle motionless. Is it hunting? By the time I got home for lunch, the roads were wet and my mountains were looking great against some blue sky. 

We have a day of mixed sun and cloud with a high of 0 C. Some flurries could arrive in the late afternoon. At the coast, they are just clearing up after a big snow storm that cancelled ferries and airlines. We got off easy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.