-15 C/ 5 F

Clear and cold as a
winter day can be, so I
bundle up and go!

~carliewired

After yesterday's rather sunny photos, I had a nap mid-afternoon. When I awoke after 3 PM, my world outside had changed drastically. It was grey, windy and getting colder. 

I took my daughter out for dinner in appreciation for all her work with sorting in my house. We left the house in the dark and emerged into a prairie winter scene with the wind blowing the snow across the road ahead of us. 

We were home again before 7 listening to the wind howl around the house. The temperature kept dropping outside. 

This morning, as I was enjoying my morning coffee, the sky was clearing but the temperature was cold. It got down to - 17 C overnight. 

I was off to get my photos with no thought to a jaunt. I thought I could capture something of this morning without getting out of my car. I drove into McArthur Island to drive the loop road. I stopped to get a view of my mountains across the playing fields. I did not see any walkers on the Rivers Trail at all. As I rounded the curve on the southside I could see Canada geese hunkered down in the fields. Some would rise up, do a quick fly over and come down to rest again. Had they been there all night?  I paused at the southeast corner to have a look into the river. It has a definite look of winter. I drove home to get a shot on my deck of my mountains. That's my effort for the day!

We can expect a sunny day with a high of -12 C. I think this would be a perfect day for perogies and Ukrainian sausage. I have more sorting to do while the sun still shines. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.