A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Sound of Brass

We’re just in from a great concert. For various reasons we haven’t been able to attend the outdoor singing events over the last two weekends but we put ourselves forward to sing at this joint concert with Otley Brass Band for Shipley Rotary Club in St Paul’s Church, Shipley.

We had to enter a draw as the church wanted to limit numbers in attendance due to Covid. Over 80 put their names forward for the choir and only 55 got a place so we were lucky. We had to do a lateral flow test earlier today and I’m pleased to say we were both negative.

There were sessions in each half for the band and the choir with carols for the audience in between. The finale was the two together as we sang ‘Spirit of the Season’ from Polar Express to the band’s accompaniment.

I love a brass band!  Here is a duet by the flugel horn and trombone playing ‘Baby it’s Cold Outside’. I was really pleased they came forward to do it as I couldn’t see them all for a pillar to get a full band shot.

The only problem was it was cold inside! Storm Barra doesn’t seem to have brought the expected rain and snow this evening though that may have put a few people off attending but the church boiler had broken down. I was OK till after our singing session in the second half when I gave in and put my coat on!

Despite that it was a great evening and I’m very pleased to have been a part of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.