McArthur Island - South West

Dress warmly and walk
carefully as the ice can
be so treacherous

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck taking a photo of my mountains at 7:30. It was -9 C and the snow on the deck was crunchy underfoot. I thought I should wait to go out. I worked on string piecing until noon. 

When I'd finished lunch, I decided to drive to McArthur Island to see how much ice there was now. 

About 200 pounds of sand and cement blocks were added to my truck box. That should improve traction when the roads get slippery again. Today, the road is frozen. 

I parked on the north side near the Butterfly Garden but I could see the slough was frozen over. No open water for ducks there! Instead, two teenagers were sliding around under the foot bridge. I left them to it and drove on. 

I parked on the southwest corner where I could get a view of the city to the east and my mountains to the east. Far down the Rivers Trail to the west I could see deer crossing the trail and disappearing down to the river. I walked slowly and carefully in that direction. I discovered a little herd of seven does. I wondered if these are the same ones that appear in my daughter's backyard. They seemed very comfortable with some lying down under the willows in the disc golf course. The ones beside the river were finding something to eat there. I felt as if I were intruding on a family gathering so I took myself off in the direction of my old pickup. The dried vegetation along the trail had been sugar-coated with frost. The sky was beginning to clear in the west with some blue showing through the cloud. 

The forecast was for a high of -5 C and a mix of sun and cloud in the afternoon. 

I'm home with my sewing machine this afternoon. A nap sounds like a good idea. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.