Foggy Friday

Today was a later start - I didn't go to bed until 1:30 AM. I never feel like going straight to sleep when I come home from work and need time to unwind properly first. So as I didn't have to be up early, I slept in until 9 AM apart from being up at 6:30 AM for Moggy Feeding Time! (A little late according to Someone!)

First task was to call the care home and see what was the latest news regarding my Mum and her recent accident. She is back at the home now, and being given pain relief for the bruising. They asked for permission to move her to another room which has a lower bed and is closer to the office so they can keep more of an eye on her. They are also going to put a "crash mat" by the bed so it is a softer landing should the situation happen again. I'm not really sure why they needed permission for the move. Obviously I said yes as it seems a much better option for her.

I asked if it may not be a good idea for my Dad to visit again and she advised against visitors for a while to let her recover a little more first. She thought that seeing her covered in bruises may be traumatic for my Dad too.

I called my Dad and put him in the picture - he was glad to hear that she's back and recovering, and agreed about the room move. He was also glad I'd called early so he could carry on his card delivery tour of the village! Both times I needed to call him yesterday it took a few attempts before he answered. The first time he'd gone for a drive to pay his bowls club subs and the second time he was drinking tea in the house of Mabel next door. (She whose rumoured death was greatly exaggerated!) On each occasion I'd been about to call Estelle to go check on him! I need to chill I think! And I'm glad he's not just sitting in the house!

Work was busier last night. No real drama, though I am concerned that Abdul is already looking for another job (Not that I really blame him as he can do better!) and Yasser is talking about taking Christmas week off! I need to corner Hekmat before he does to secure the two days I need off! The shop only closes Christmas day, but I'd like Boxing Day too if possible, and need the 27th as that is when we are doing Second Christmas with Jeri and family.

Today Brian and I had lunch in Morrison's cafe then went to Pets at Home to get a couple of little toys for Minstrel's Christmas present. Then we had a walk near the river in the fog to get Blips!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.