A COLD AND FROSTY DAY

Today I had to collect a parcel from the post office and then hand deliver a couple of cards in the village.  Post Office first - no queue so I was in and out in double quick time. Then I carried on walking to deliver my cards.  My route took me through the churchyard.  Took a shot of the frosty leaves.  Further on I took a shot of the beautiful pink sky and the moon.  Both shots are in my collage.  It was a freezing cold day and there was frost everywhere.  The paths were slippery in places so I walked very carefully.

After delivering my cards I carried on to the main road to wait for a bus to Gateshed.  It was getting dark by them.  The top shot of my collage was taken at the bus stop.

Gateshead was busy.  Most folk in Tesco had very full trolleys.  I could spot lots of booze being bought as well as sweet treats such as Christmas cakes, puddings,mince pies and chocolates.  My purchases were more modest and fitted into a basket.

My bus came on time and was quite full. We sped off towards home.  But we only made it to the next stop.  Bus doors wouldn't open.  Driver faffed around for a bit and was finally able to let the passenger off.  But the doors were being erratic. Driver tried to open and close them many times  and sometimes they worked, sometimes they didn't.  He reported it to the depot.  He was advised not to continue due to health and safety concerns ....  in case door got jammed and passengers were stuck on bus. 

He made sure the door was open while we waited on the freezing cold bus for 20 mins until the next one came along.  It had come from Newcastle and was already full so the " new " passengers had to pile in along the aisle.  Luckily some kind gent offered me his seat.  I don't seem to be having much luck with buses lately. 

I was glad to get home and before unpacking the shopping I slumped on the sofa for a rest and to warm up.  Then the phone rang.  It was one of the recipients of the Christmas cards I had delivered.  Mrs B - and old teacher from my Grammar School days.  She wanted to thank me for the card...... and tell me all her health troubles, her husband's health troubles.... and her sons health troubles.  For an hour.  Didn't mind really. She and her husband are in their 80's and due to being in poor health they hardly leave the house so I was glad to lend and ear.  She seemed thrilled that I had remembered to give her a Christmas card. 

So I had my tea late and then it was time to watch Strictly which I had recorded.  Great show and I would have been pleased with whoever won. 

Steps today - 9,692

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.